Carlisle City and Borough

This page has information on Carlisle Borough and City in the County of Cumbria, North West England, UK.

The City of Carlisle is a non-metropolitan district in Cumbria, England. According to the 2001 census, it has just over 100,000 residents.

Following the Local Government Act of 1972, the present district was formed on 1st April 1974 by a merger of the previous city and Carlisle County Borough with its Border Rural District.

Although it is the largest city in England with an area of 1,039.97 kmĀ², only a small amount of this area is urban - the former city of Carlisle, plus towns of Longtown, Brampton and Scotby.

The main areas / parishes of the city are:
Arthuret | Askerton | Beaumont | Bewcastle | Brampton | Burgh by Sands | Burtholme
Carlatton | Cumrew | Cumwhitton | Dalston | Hayton | Irthington | Rockcliffe
St Cuthbert Without | Stanwix Rural | Upper Denton | Walton | Westlinton | Wetheral

Smaller area / parish names:
Castle Carrock | Cummersdale | Farlam | Hethersgill | Kingmoor | Kingwater | Kirkandrews
Kirklinton Middle | Midgeholme | Nether Denton | Nicholforest | Orton | Scaleby | Solport
Stapleton | Waterhead

The Cumbria Site | Contact Us | Privacy Policy
Hotels in Cumbria | Solicitors in Cumbria | SEO Cumbria | Lake District Hotels
Employment Agencies Cumbria | Kitchen Designers Cumbria

Cumbria Businesses, Tourist Information, Accommodation, Schools and News